#DescendantofthePioneers

by The Institute for the Study of Slightly Varying Circumstances

.

I would have used the hashtag “DescendantoftheMormonPioneers” to celebrate my people, but did not out of fear of receiving hostile comments about ‘Mormons’, as well as mockery of my ancestors, and those in my extended family who still strive to practice their faith in peace. Sadly, many people have negative views of the Latter-Day Saints, and openly express disdain for the believers way of life and even their Holy book. I, as a child (unassuming, full of wonder), though not a ‘Mormon’ myself mentioned to some other children my family’s connection to the Faith and was immediately told, in no uncertain terms, that they would all go to HELL. Yes, I was saddened by this. Who wouldn’t be? My family, the people I loved, were consigned to HELL because of what they believed in their hearts to be true. Imagine that, a small child (wide eyed, and full of kindness) tortured by other children over religious beliefs. Some even made fun of the Temple Garments calling them ‘Mormon underwear’. Painful. Most definitely painful, and don’t get me started on the Faith’s persecution by the Federal Government. No, I couldn’t take it. As a descendant I still feel the sting.

.

.

.

.

.

